Masonic Tour The Ashlar Company 1-800-357-6502
Search 1-800-357-6502 Masonic Regalia StoreRegalia Store AccountAccount BlogsBlogs EducationEducation EncyclopediaEncyclopedia EtiquetteEtiquette Famous MasonsFamous Masons GracesGraces Grand LodgesGrand Lodges InformationInformation LibraryLibrary Lost & FoundLost & Found MembershipMembership MythsMyths NewsNews PoemsPoems QuotesQuotes Regius PoemRegius Poem RitualsRituals SymbolsSymbols ToastsToasts TourTour Tracing BoardsTracing Boards TricentennialTricentennial WallpaperWallpaper
Ashlar Home > Tour > Freemasons' Hall

Freemasons' Hall

Londons Freemasons Hall is the headquarters of the United Grand Lodge of England and is the meeting place for Masonic Lodges in England and Whales, consisting of over 300,000 Freemasons. The building is located in Great Queen Street, running between Covent Garden and Kingsway. This massive art deco structure occupies an impressive two and a quarter acres. This iconic building has been featured in many films including The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (2005), Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London (2004), The Wings of the Dove (1997), and Johnny English (2003), as well as numerous TV series. It is simply a must see for any Mason traveling to England. If you desire to see the living history and rich tradition of the craft, you certainly wont be disappointed with a pilgrimage to the beloved Freemasons Hall.

Inside Freemasons Hall

Grand Temple
Temple #1
Temple #10
Temple #17
Temple #23
Library
Museum
Letchworths Shop
Construction and History

In 1769, the premier Grand Lodge decided to establish a central meeting place for its membership. Five years later, after raising funds from the members, the Grand Lodge of England purchased a humble tavern house in Great Queen Street. Situated behind the house was a garden and a second, smaller house. A competition was soon held to find the best architectural design to repurpose the site. The winner was Thomas Sandby, RA, whos design would link the two houses by a Grand Hall. In 1776, the construction was complete and the new Freemasons Hall was dedicated on May 23 that year. The Hall soon became an indispensable part of Londons social life as it hosted balls, concerts and meeting places for various charitable and literary societies.

After the Union of the Ancients and Moderns Lodges, the Freemasons Hall Grand Superintendant of Works, Sir John Soane, initiated and oversaw extensive remodeling of the kitchens and meeting rooms. Nine years later, the hall which Sandby designed was extended Eastward over a seven year period by Frederick Cockerell. In 1919, The Masonic Million Memorial Fund is established to rebuild Freemasons Hall. The fund and the halls work was dedicated to the 3,225 British Freemasons who died in service of the First World War, and was named The Masonic Peace Memorial. The name would later revert to Freemasons Hall at the outbreak of World War II in 1939.

In 1925, another Architects competition was held for a renovation and expansion of the site. The winning design was a culmination of the work of H.V. Ashley and Winton Newman, who based their plans on an unprecedented massive steel framework. On July 14, 1927 a well attended cornerstone ceremony commenced the construction which would continue to 1933 and cost the modern equivelant of 317m. On July 19, 1933 the new Freemasons Hall is filled with over 5,000 exited brethren as Grand Master, HRH The Duke of Connaught, KG dedicated the hall to Masonic service. By 1985, the hall was opened to the public and became available for non-Masonic events and once again became an invaluable institution of the London social scene.

60 Great Queen Street
London,
UK
http://www.ugle.org.uk/freemasons-hall

Link to This Page
Login to make this an affiliate link and earn revenue when purchased.

X
Click Here For 2B1 ASK1 Lapel Pins - $.95 Each A Best Seller Exclusively from The Ashlar Company
Owned & Operated Exclusively by Members of the Masonic Family
Tradition, Integrity, Trust.
Support@TheAshlarCompany.com
© 2018 The Ashlar Company “Bro. Mike:

Just wanted to say that I got the ring - and it's the most beautiful ring I've seen. Thank you and keep up the good work.

S&F,
Ofotsu” Brother Ofotsu, Upper Marlboro, MD


You are currently visiting masonictour.com