In 1788, a few London Freemasons identified a need for a charitable institution which would care for the daughters of Freemasons who where in hardship. In May of that year, Bartholomew Ruspini and 9 other Masons met on Great Queen Street at Freemason's Tavern to begin plans for the institution. After finding a suitable location in Somers Town, and the perfect Matron for the students, Ms. Ann Le Clerc, the institution was finally underway. On January 5, 1789, there was a ceremonial procession of the children into the house, which was highlighted in the local news. Today the Royal Masonic School for Girls is still full operation and is well regarded as a distinguished and well established institution.